You’re half asleep when awake and half awake when you’re sleeping – unknown


Sometimes I get into a vicious cycle where I have problems staying focused at work and problems sleeping at night. Isn’t it funny how these things tend to occur at the same time – and how they tend to re-enforce each other?

From my personal experience I’ve found that I need regular exercise and psycological relaxation – quite the reverse from what I experience at work.  I’m not going to tell you about the physical side – you probably know what adequate is for you.

What I’ve found, however, is that mediting on a regular basis (the psychological based – non-mystical kind in my case) seems to reduce frequency and duration of this problem. Although I haven’t been meditating for very long compared to my fellow meditators (only a couple of years, yet), I had been thinking about starting for almost 10 years before I finally got it going. Once I started meditating regulerly (which is somewhat of a habit getting into), I wondered why I hadn’t started earlier.

My personal experience is that it helps me to stay sharp when I am supposed to – and – relax when I need to. The meditation I’m following, recommends two sittings a day – preferrably 30 minutes each – although I seldom get to do it that long. I’m not going to take you into boring details (you can look them up yourself – or take a class), but here’s my bullet-point summary of why it works:

  • Afternoon/evening: clears up thoughts from the daily at large – in this meditation you deal with thoughts and feelings from your daily strive. There’s always a lot of “buz” in my head at the end of the day. In short – this is the part that helps me sleep.
  • Morning: prepares me for the day – in this meditation the “buz” in your head is closer to who you ARE, as there is not as much residual thoughts as in the evening session. In short – this is the part that helps me getting started and keeping focused (and personal awareness/development as a bonus). I even do short breaks during the day – the only trouble is doing it without other people noticing it at work – it doesn’t look too good sitting still meditating – but believe me – it IS a productivity booster.

Although it has worked well for me, I am aware this doesn’t work for everyone, but I do recommend you try it, if (and only if) you’re open to the experience.

An example of how you can start is: Acem

Just to underline once again. There is a lot of hard evidence that shows significant mental and physiological benefits from meditation. I also believe it is a valuable use of time.

Rgds,
Kevin

Leave a Reply

